Backpackers Of Asia
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.8
 Rooms  3.5
 Cleanliness  3.6
 Location  3.4
 Security & Safety  4.1
 Service & Staff  3.6
 Food / Dining  3.0
 Total  3.5

"Not a Family Friendly Place"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Jennifer H. of Grand Blanc, United States
Reviewed:   February 8, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This place has the potential to be great. The staff are very nice people, as everyone has stated. BUT I would NOT stay here if you have a family. First, I made a deposit with a website and indicated 2 adults, 2 children and was given the price. Next I was contacted by the Inn directly saying that price did not include the children (which is an extra fee). I agreed and she told me it would be 400php TOTAL more. Then when we got there they charged us 800php more for the children - even though I had brought the email from their manager saying the price we owed. It didn't matter. But my question is why do we have to pay extra for children (ages 7,9) when nothing extra is given? There is no soap, towels, or even cover sheets on the bed. You have to provide everything. The room was too small for an extra bed. So this might have been ok if we then liked the room.
I asked specifically before we came if there was a mosquito problem with staying in the huts, and was told no. The first night we were there, in our bathroom, I killed 37 mosquitoes (yes, I counted them). The staff brought us a mosquito net and sprayed the room, but that doesn't help when your using the bathroom and the real problem is a broken screen. Also, the room was very dark. They had two small night lights in the room, but they didn't work. Also the remote for the TV didn't work either. The place has potential as we enjoyed the rustic environment (including goats, cats, dogs) around the Inn and the sound of nature all around us in the morning - and again the staff were nice, but the fact that we ended up paying 1290 php a night (just because of having the children with us) for a small hut that is not on the beach and had all the problems we did, we would not recommend it. Especially since, as we found out, there are so many other good choices for families in Boracay.

"inquiry"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Jessa S. of silay city, Philippines
Reviewed:   September 28, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2010     Type:   Honeymoon/Romance
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
are you accepting walk inn customers?and how much for the 2nyts, ?

"asking spec. info"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Erik G. of krefeld, Germany
Reviewed:   May 26, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2010     Type:   Honeymoon/Romance
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
want to know only: how much for a comfortable nipa-hut in about august/ sept. 2010 for 1 week/2 persons? you have no e-mail address nor website to reach you and with prices you say only its all open - need more exactly and reliable information... erik from germany, bless you, best regards: erik

"Good value and friendly staff"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Brian T. of Cincinnati, United States
Reviewed:   May 18, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed in the guesthouse. The room was nice, clean and has everything you need. We had AC, a TV, fridge and en-suite bathroom. Also the rate is very affordable compared to other offers. The staff was always friendly and helpful.
It`s a 3 minute walk from the beach, near Station 3, quiet area. Thanks for everything and see you again next year !

"Ocean Breeze, Boracay"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   David V. of Manila, Philippines
Reviewed:   April 17, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Pleasant accommodation, nice staff, nice rooms, decent price, but a long walk from most of the Boracay beach shops, bars, restaurants etc.
If I returned to Boracay I would look for other accommodation near Station 2 to save my tired legs.

"Felt like home; afforable and personalized service"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Monica R. of Napoli, Italy
Reviewed:   April 8, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed 7 nights in the Ocean Breeze Inn Guesthouse and immediately felt like home; we even exented our stay for 2 more nights.
The staff was kind and helpful. They show us the party zone at Boracay and we had a lot of fun there all together. They also guided us to the highest Boracay mountain, Mt. Luho, and we will not forget the beautiful view from there. Also when we had additional questions regarding excursions or Boracay locations, the staff was friendly and assisted us. They even accompanied us to Talipapa market and D`mall.
We had a spacious room with air condition refrigerator, television and more amenities for a very affordable rate. We compared our rates to similar room offers in the neighborhood but could`nt find anything better. We requested pick up and drop off service at Kalibo Airport and it was also organized perfect and without problems. Though Ocean Breeze Inn is not located at front beach, it is only a 2 minute walk to White Beach.
We miss already Boracay and plan to return to Ocean Breeze Inn next year. Thanks for everything.

"Ocean Breeze Inn"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Amy F. of Beijing, China
Reviewed:   March 16, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My husband and I had a pleasant stay at ocean breeze. However, we feel that there were a few things that need improvement.
There were a lot of ants in our room
We were not aware that we had to pay cash for the room
The power went out constantly
The toilet did not flush
Staff were always in the kitchen, even though it said guest kitchen. We felt sometimes that we were imposing, even though the guest should always come first.
We always had to request fresh towels
Also, we really enjoyed the two little kittens!

"Amazing Staff"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Matt H. of Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed:   October 24, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
From the moment I arrived at the airport in Kalibo the staff at Ocean Breeze Inn were immaculate. They were friendly and helpful. Boracay is a beautiful place, make it better by staying with beautiful people!


1 - 8 of 8 reviews




BackpackersOfAsia Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us